book reviews · lifestyle

Horror and Suspense at its peak//A short review on Asylum by Madeleine Roux

 

13597728Title – Asylum #1

Author- Madeleine Roux

Pages- 313 pages

Pubisher- Harper Collins

Genre- Fiction, Fantasy, Horror

Link- Amazon.inGoodreads

Synopsis

Madeleine Roux’s New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called “a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place.” Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline’s twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum’s dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

my review

  • This book deals with a 16 years old boy called Dan who is going to spend summer at a college program and he has been accommodated in a hostel which was previously an asylum.
  • Now as the story progresses we learn that the asylum was not only a place to treat the mad but also weird experiments were preformed on them.
  • I was thrilled and shocked throughout the book when I came across new twist and some dark secrets.
    The creep factor was awesome! The book has old, freaky pictures which I absolutely loved.

2017-07-03-05-23-40-1.jpg

  •  The writing is great, but not mind-blowing. Like I said, it relies on the pictures to help with the creep. So while I couldn’t tear my eyes off the page, it was mostly for the mystery and the pictures. Not the writing.
  • The character build-up was good and Dan’s character slightly irked me and i think we will be able to see more of the truth about him in the next book. Since he was adopted, there are many questions surrounding his real identity like Who are his actual parents? Can he be a psychopath? etc etc….
2017-07-03-05-22-28-1.jpg
My Rating

♥♥♥1/2

xoxo,

shreya.

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Horror and Suspense at its peak//A short review on Asylum by Madeleine Roux

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s